What is PIP?
PIP stands for personal injury protection, and it is an extension of car insurance that covers medical expenses and, in many cases, lost wages. It is often called “no-fault” coverage because its inherent comprehensiveness pays out claims agnostic of who is at fault in the accident. According to the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation the intention of PIP was to “provide injured drivers up to $10,000 in immediate medical coverage in lieu of establishing fault through the court system. The goal was to reduce payment delay for injured drivers, as well as limit the utilization of the court system.” In Florida, PIP coverage is required to be purchased by all owners of motor vehicles registered in this state. PIP coverage makes the individual responsible for their own injuries in an accident regardless of fault.
Benefits of PIP
Pip covers a variety of benefits including medical, disability and death. Under a basic Florida PIP policy, insurance companies are required to reimburse 80 percent of all reasonable expenses for medically necessary medical, surgical, X-ray, dental, and rehabilitative services, including prosthetic devices and medically necessary ambulance, hospital, and nursing services although there are limitations on the services and care that will be reimbursed. Also, if you have been injured in an auto accident and your injuries are preventing you from working, then you have an eligible claim for lost wages. In the event that death is a result of an auto accident, PIP covers up to $5000 of death benefits per person. Death benefits are in addition to medical and disability benefits, as one may acquire a large sum of medical bills prior to death.
Filing a Claim
Florida has strict rules to follow when filing a claim for PIP. The most important is that treatment for any injuries must happen within two weeks of the car accident to be eligible for PIP reimbursement. Your claim will not be accepted after 2 weeks. If you are having issues with your insurance company or facing difficulties with your case, it may be a good idea to get a personal injury lawyer to ensure you get your payment. For the work loss benefits, you will need to submit a “Wage and Salary” verification that is filled out by your employer. The verification documents your wages in the 13 weeks prior to the accident.
It is recommended that you seek counsel and advice from a personal injury attorney who can help you in these circumstances. Our firm has extensive experience in representing personal injury victims and can provide you with legal research and guidance for your case. Give us a call today at 1-833-DARFOOR for a free consultation regarding your rights under Florida law.
For more information on the benefits of PIP in Florida, or if you have any questions or suggestions please contact our facebook page. We look forward to receiving your feedback. https://www.facebook.com/darfoorlaw
No comment yet, add your voice below!