Texting while driving is one of the most common distracted driving behaviors and is now a major issue in Florida. In 2019, Florida attempted to reduce the number of drivers texting while driving and furthermore reduce the accidents associated with this behavior. The state enacted Florida Statutes Section 316.05. This law made it legal for police officers to stop and issue citations to drivers who text while driving. This behavior is now illegal in the state.
The said law took effect in 2020. According to this law, drivers who are holding or using a wireless handheld communication device in a clearly marked school crossing, school zone, or active work zone are subject to a stop and a warning from law enforcement. Most cellular phones and smartphones meet the definition of prohibited wireless communication devices.
A first offense for breaking the Wireless Communication While Driving Law, sets a base fine of $30. A person guilty of breaking this law for the first time may also pay court costs and other fees. However, no license points apply if it is a driver’s first offense. However, license points apply for a second offense within five years and a base fine of $60. A driver may also face court costs and other fees. For any offense where a motorist violates the hands-free driving law in a work zone or school, they will receive a base fine of $60. They may also be made to pay court costs and other fees.
There are also some existing exceptions to the texting-while-driving law. The law accepts drivers that receive messages related to navigation. However, despite the state’s law, using a device for navigation can still be dangerous and can still be considered negligence if it results in a collision.
If you or a loved one have been severely injured in a collision because of a driver who was texting while driving, you can reach out to Darfoor Law Firm and we will give you the best service you deserve. Contact us at +1-833-327-3667 for a free consultation and case evaluation.
No comment yet, add your voice below!